About New Zealand

New Zealand is an island country in the South Pacific Ocean located approximately 2,000 km southeast of Australia. The island nation consists of two main islands - the North Island and the South Island. Stewart Island and many smaller islands lie offshore. New Zealand has a population of around 5.1 million people. The capital city is Wellington but the country’s largest city is Auckland.

New Zealand is a welcoming, diverse country with a history of Māori, European, Pacific Island, and Asian immigration. This rich blend of cultures, combined with geologically fascinating landscapes and unique flora and fauna, make New Zealand a seriously exciting country to explore. Spectacular glaciers, picturesque fiords, rugged mountains, vast plains, rolling hillsides, subtropical forest, volcanic plateau and miles of coastline with amazing sandy beaches await visitors to this spectacular country.